

Presiding: Cllr. Garret Kelleher.

Present: Cllr. Dan Boyle, Cllr Pip Breen, Cllr Gillian Coughlan, Cllr Jim D'Arcy, Mayor John Moran, Cllr Ken Murnane, Cllr Barbara-Ann Murphy, Cllr Thomas Phelan, Cllr Oliver Walsh.

Present on MS Teams: Cllr. Alan Coleman, Cllr. Clare Colleran Molloy, Cllr Michael Collins, Cllr Frankie Daly, Cllr. Fergal Dennehy, Cllr. Joe Hannigan, Cllr. Deirdre Kelly, Cllr Mairin McGrath, Cllr. Andrew McGuinness, Cllr Norma Moriarty, Cllr Tony O'Brien, Cllr. Niall O'Callaghan, Cllr. Sheila O'Callaghan, Cllr Bobby O'Connell, Cllr. Peggy Ryan, Cllr Terry Shannon, Cllr. Bill Slattery.

Apologies: Cllr. John Brennan, Cllr. Ben Ward.

Officials Present: David Kelly, Enda Hogan, Kevin Lynch, Rose Power, Ian Ludlow, Dominic Walsh, Dr. Rhiannon Carey Bates, Padraig O'Shea, Samantha Richardson, Lisa Moran, Denis Cotter, Catherine Connaughton, Ronan O'Brien, Maria Murphy, Anna Higgins, Karen Coughlan, Oonagh Messette, Omer Sunguroglu.

Officials Present on MS Teams: Michael Buckley, Elayne McDonnell, Kevin Twomey, Áine Whelan, Brigh Ryan, Claire Breen, Colm Walsh, Sharon Murray.

Following the Roll Call, the Cathaoirleach cast a vote of sympathy to Cllr. Terry Shannon on the death of his wife, and to Cllr. Niall O'Callaghan on the death of his brother. A minutes' silence was observed. The Cathaoirleach also congratulated the three new Committee of the Region's Assembly Members, namely Cllr. Fergal Dennehy, Cllr. Joe Halligan and Cllr. Eileen Lynch.

1. Adoption of Minutes of Meeting held on 13th December 2024

The Members adopted the minutes of the meeting held on 13th December 2024, proposed by Cllr. Michael Collins and seconded by Cllr. Pip Breen.

2. Matters Arising

No matters arising.

3. ERDF Funding available to Local Authorities under THRIVE Call 2.

Rose Power provided a detailed presentation on the THRIVE Scheme with call for Strand 2 opening on Jan 16th. Following comments and queries from ClIrs. Breen, Colleran Molloy, Murnane, Phelan and Kelly and Mayor Moran, the Executive again stressed that proposed projects must be of significance, LA's can bring some additional own funds and phased payments can be made.

4. Update on funding awarded to-date under the ERDF Regional Programme.

Assistant Director Enda Hogan gave an extensive overview of the progress of the ERDF Southern, Eastern and Midlands Regional Programme specifically detailing the funding awards in the Southern Region.





Arna chomhchistiú ag an Aontas Eorpach



Tionól Réigiúnach an Deiscirt Following clarifications from Cllrs Boyle, Phelan, Coughlan, it was highlighted that the Programme Monitoring Committee is the oversight body with regard to the ERDF Programme as specified in the EU Regulations and that the Assembly Members are represented on this committee.

It was agreed that a representative from SEAI would be asked to present at a future meeting.

5. Regional Planning Update

Assistant Director Kevin Lynch updated the Members on the changes planned for the Planning Act and how it impacts the Regional Spatial and Economic Strategy.

6. Nomination of two alternates to the Association of Irish Regions

Cllr. Pip Breen was nominated by Cllr. Ken Murnane and Seconded by Cllr. Coughlan; Cllr Barbara Anne Murphy was nominated by Cllr. Oliver Walsh and Seconded by Cllr. Gillian Coughlan.

7. Any Other Business

Members were reminded to register for the upcoming Association of Irish Regions Training Conference in Athlone on the 5th and 6th of February.

Members were asked to indicate interest in visiting Brussels. For this year, given the number of new Members, there may be 2 trips, but in the remaining lifetime of the current Assembly, this trip will only happen once a year.

Cllr. Niall O'Callaghan indicated that AIR are seeking nominations for Leas-

Cathaoirleach, and he was going to officially propose Cllr. Kelleher.

Cllr. Sheila O'Callaghan wanted the Executive to be aware that the there is still some difficulty with the sound when joining meetings on-line.

8. Date of Next Meeting

Friday the 14th February 2025 will be the next meeting date.

Signed:

Date:

Cllr. Garret Kelleher Cathaoirleach





Arna chomhchistiú ag an Aontas Eorpach

> Co-funded by the European Union

Tionól Réigiúnach an Deiscirt Southern Regional

Assembly



Tionól Réigiúnach an Deiscirt Southern Regional Assembly

AGENDA

- 1. Adoption of Minutes of Meeting held on 13th December 2024
- 2. Matters Arising
- 3. ERDF Funding available to Local Authorities under THRIVE Call 2
- 4. Update on funding awarded to-date under the ERDF Regional Programme
- 5. Regional Planning Update
- 6. Nomination of two alternates to the Association of Irish Regions
- 7. Any Other Business
- 8. Date of Next Meeting





Arna chomhchistiú ag an Aontas Eorpach

> Co-funded by the European Union



Tionól Réigiúnach an Deiscirt

